The Hurt Locker wins yet another Best Picture prize


The Hurt Locker has been named by the National Society of Film Critics as the Best Picture of 2009. It is the 8th time the film has been bestowed the Best Picture award by American film critic guilds.

Kathryn Bigelow picked up Best Director for her work on the film, cementing her position as firm favourite to claim the Oscar. If nominated for an Academy Award, she would be the fourth woman ever to receive the honour. If she won, she would be the first woman ever to win.

Jeremy Renner was also named Best Actor for his performance in the Iraq war drama.

Other winners included:

Best Actress: Yolande Moreau (Seraphine)
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) and Paul Schneider (Bright Star)
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique (Precious)
Best Screenplay: Joel and Ethan Coen (A Serious Man)
Best Foreign Language Film: Summer Hours
Best Non-Fiction Film: The Beaches of Agnes
Best Cinematography: The White Ribbon
Production Design: Nelson Lowry (Fantastic Mr. Fox)

The National Society of Film Critics is comprised of 64 members from major media outlets in Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York and Philadelphia. Previous winners of the Best Picture prize have included Waltz With Bashir, There Will Be Blood, Pan’s Labyrinth and Capote. The last time the Best Picture winner coincided with the Academy Award’s Best Picture was back in 2004, when Million Dollar Baby was the champ.

The Hurt Locker arrives in Australian cinemas February 25, 2010. Precious arrives February 4, 2010.

Discuss: What are your thoughts on these selections?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: