>The Social Network, Jacki Weaver recognised by National Board of Review

>The National Board of Review is first off the blocks to dole out their annual awards. Made up of 110 film professionals, academics and students, the NBR revealed their picks for the best of 2010.

The Social Network picked up Best Film, Director (David Fincher) Actor (Jesse Eisenberg) and Adapted Screenplay (Aaron Sorkin). Historically, the NBR winners rarely correspond with the eventual Oscar victors. However, they have shared Best Film twice in the last three years, which bodes well for The Social Network’s chances at the Academy Awards.

Australia’s Animal Kingdom was also well liked by the NBR. Not only did it top (admittedly, alphabetically) their Top 10 Independent films of 2010, but Jacki Weaver was named Best Supporting Actress. Again, this award rarely corresponds with the Oscar winner, but it’s an undeniable bump in her awards campaign.

Check out the full list of the winners below:

Best Film: The Social Network

Best Films of 2010 (in alphabetical order): Another Year, The Fighter, Hereafter, Inception, The King’s Speech, Shutter Island, The Town, Toy Story 3, True Grit, Winter’s Bone

Best Foreign Language Film: Of Gods and Men

Top Five Foreign Films (in alphabetical order): I Am Love, Incendies, Life, Above All, Soul Kitchen, White Material

Best Documentary: Waiting for “Superman”

Top Five Documentaries (in alphabetical order): A Film Unfinished, Inside Job, Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work, Restrepo, The Tillman Story

Top Independent Films (in alphabetical order): Animal Kingdom, Buried, Fish Tank, The Ghost Writer, Greenberg, Let Me In, Monsters, Please Give, Somewhere, Youth in Revolt

Best Actor: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Actress: Lesley Manville, Another Year

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter

Best Supporting Actress: Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Best Ensemble Cast: The Town

Breakthrough Performance: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone

Best Director: David Fincher, The Social Network

Debut Directors: Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington, Restrepo

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Spotlight Award: Sylvain Chomet and Jacques Tati, The Illusionist

Best Original Screenplay: Chris Sparling, Buried

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3

Special Filmmaking Achievement: Sofia Coppola for writing, directing, and producing Somewhere

Production Design Award: Dante Ferretti, Shutter Island

William K. Everson Award For Film History: Leonard Maltin

Freedom of Expression: Fair Game, Conviction, Howl

Discuss: Your thoughts on this year’s winners?

2 Responses to “>The Social Network, Jacki Weaver recognised by National Board of Review”

  1. >Wow! I really have to see The Social Network. It isn't the Best Film for nothing, right?

  2. >Much better than I expected, witty dialogue and good story line, would add to one off my favourites 8/10

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: