>WGA, PGA reveal 2011 nominees

>The Writers Guild of America and the Producers Guild of America have revealed the 2011 nominations for their annual awards.

First up, the PGA, which recognises a film’s producer or producers. The winner of the Best Picture prize at the PGA has only repeated the feat at the Oscar ceremony five times in the past decade. The nominees are as follows:

127 Hours, Producers: Danny Boyle, Christian Colson

Black Swan, Producers: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Brian Oliver

Inception, Producers: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas

The Fighter, Producers: David Hoberman, Todd Lieberman, Mark Wahlberg

The Kids Are All Right, Producers: Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray

The King’s Speech, Producers: Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin

The Social Network, Producers: Dana Brunetti, Ceán Chaffin, Michael De Luca, Scott Rudin

The Town, Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Graham King

Toy Story 3, Producer: Darla K. Anderson

True Grit, Producers: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Scott Rudin

No real surprises there. Check out the PGA nominees for Animated and Documentary features, as well as the TV nominees, here. The winners will be announced on January 22nd, 2011, at a ceremony hosted by Judd Apatow.

Far more contentious are the Writers Guild nominees. Of last year’s 10 WGA nominated films, only four went on to nab Oscar noms. This is due to the guild’s strict rules, which deems films not written by WGA members, and animated films, ineligible in the Original Screenplay and Adapted Screenplay categories.

Films not eligible for this year’s WGA awards include: Winter’s Bone, The King’s Speech, Toy Story 3, Never Let Me Go, How To Train Your Dragon, The Ghost Writer, Biutiful, Nowhere Boy and Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.

With that in mind, here are the 2011 WGA nominees:

Original Screenplay:

Black Swan, Screenplay by Mark Heyman and Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin; Story by Andres Heinz; Fox Searchlight

The Fighter, Screenplay by Scott Silver and Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Story by Keith Dorrington & Paul Tamasy & Eric Johnson; Paramount Pictures

Inception, Written by Christopher Nolan; Warner Bros.

The Kids Are All Right, Written by Lisa Cholodenko & Stuart Blumberg; Focus Features

Please Give, Written by Nicole Holofcener; Sony Pictures Classics

Adapted Screenplay:

127 Hours, Screenplay by Danny Boyle & Simon Beaufoy; Based on the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston; Fox Searchlight

I Love You Phillip Morris, Written by John Requa & Glenn Ficarra; Based on the book by Steven McVicker; Roadside Attractions

The Social Network, Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin; Based on the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich; Sony Pictures

The Town, Screenplay by Peter Craig and Ben Affleck & Aaron Stockard; Based on the novel Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan; Warner Bros.

True Grit, Screenplay by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen; Based on the novel by Charles Portis; Paramount Pictures

Check out the WGA nominees for Documentary Screenplay, as well as the TV nominees, here. The WGA awards will be revealed at a ceremony on February 5th, 2011.

Discuss: What are your thoughts on this year’s batch of nominees?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: