The Eye of the Storm, The Hunter, Snowtown and Red Dog lead AACTA nominations

The nominations for the first official Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards were announced in Sydney today, with acclaimed local productions The Hunter and The Eye of the Storm leading a pack that also included box office success stories  Snowtown, Red Dog, and Oranges and Sunshine.

In an effort to align itself with the United States’ Academy Awards and the United Kingdom’s BAFTAs, the Australian Film Institute ditched the AFI awards in favour of the new AACTAs.

Here are the nominations for their first ever ceremony:

Best Film

The Eye of the Storm
The Hunter
Mad Bastards
Oranges and Sunshine
Red Dog

Best Direction

Fred SchepisiThe Eye of the Storm
Daniel NettheimThe Hunter
Kriv StendersRed Dog
Justin KurzelSnowtown

Best Original Screenplay

Leon Ford Griff the Invisible
Sean ByrneThe Loved Ones
Brendan Fletcher, Dean Daley-Jones, Greg Tait, John WatsonMad Bastards
Patrick HughesRed Hill

Best Adapted Screenplay

Judy Morris – The Eye of the Storm
Alice Addison – The Hunter
Daniel Taplitz – Red Dog
Shaun Grant – Snowtown

AFI Members’ Choice

The Eye of the Storm
The Hunter
Mad Bastards
Oranges and Sunshine
Red Dog

Best Lead Actor

Willem DafoeThe Hunter
Daniel HenshallSnowtown
Goeffrey RushThe Eye of the Storm
David WenhamOranges and Sunshine

Best Lead Actress

Judy DavisThe Eye of the Storm
Frances O’ConnorThe Hunter
Charlotte RamplingThe Eye of the Storm
Emily WatsonOranges and Sunshine

Best Supporting Actor

John Gaden – The Eye of the Storm
Sam NeillThe Hunter
Robert RabiahFace to Face
Hugo WeavingOranges and Sunshine

Best Supporting Actress

Morgana DavisThe Hunter
Louise HarrisSnowtown
Helen MorseThe Eye of the Storm
Alexandra SchepisiThe Eye of the Storm

The following categories were previously announced in August:

Best Feature Length Documentary:

Life in Movement
Mrs. Carey’s Concert
Shut Up Little Man! An Audio Misadventure
The Tall Man 

Best Short Animation:

Forget Me Not
The Missing Key
The Moment

Best Short Fiction Film:

Adam’s Tallit
The Palace
The Telegram Man

To see the full list of AACTA nominations, including the Technical and Television categories, head to the official website. The winners will be announced at a ceremony held in January 2012.

Discuss: Your tips for this year’s big winners?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: