Dujardin, Spencer, Malick, and McConaughey now Oscar voters

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended invites to 176 individuals, granting them voting rights in future Oscar ceremonies.

Deadline has the full list of new members, including 2012 winners Jean Dujardin and Octavia Spencer, as well as recent nominees Jonah Hill, Melissa McCarthy, Jessica Chastain, Kristen Wiig, and Bérénice Bejo.

Industry stalwarts Bryan Cranston, Matthew McConaughey, Margo Martindale, Sam Rockwell, Michelle Yeoh, Clifton Collins, Jr., and Andy Serkis were also brought on board.

Directors Terrence Malick, Wong Kar Wai, and the Dardenne brothers have only just been extended an invitation (yo, Academy; what was the hold up?).

A few Aussies wedged their way in also; Oscar winning editor Kirk Baxter, and actor Simon Baker.

Oh, and Stephen King is now a member too.

Academy membership stands at around 6,000, and we suspect old, white men remain the primary voting branch.

Discuss: A good batch?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: