Looper, Perks of Being a Wallflower battle The Master, Lincoln for WGA awards

With the Academy Award nominations right around the corner (oh, and the Golden Globes too, if you’re into that kind of thing), America’s finest film guilds have gathered to spruik their finest produce of 2012.


One of the most prestigious precursors is the Writers Guild of America awards, despite the fact that it often proves hilariously inaccurate as a predictor of eventual Oscar nominees.

This year’s batch of contenders have been revealed, though it’s worth noting that pictures penned by non-WGA members, foreign films, and animated features are not eligible. So, enjoy the praise while it lasts, Perks of Being a Wallflower!

Original Screenplay

Flight, by John Gatins
Looper, by Rian Johnson
The Master, by Paul Thomas Anderson
Moonrise Kingdom, by Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
Zero Dark Thirty, by Mark Boal

Adapted Screenplay

Argo, by Chris Terrio
Life of Pi, by David Magee
Lincoln, by Tony Kushner
The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky
Silver Linings Playbook, by David O. Russell

Documentary Screenplay

The Central Park Five, by Sarah Burns and David McMahon and Ken Burns
The Invisible War, by Kirby Dick
Mea Maxima Culpa, by Alex Gibney
Searching for Sugar Man, by Malik Bendejelloul
We Are Legion, by Brian Knappenberger
West of Memphis, by Amy Berg & Billy McMillin

The winners will be crowned on February 17.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: