Shane Carruth on Upstream Color: “I don’t even know what it is.”

Upstream

Shane Carruth is the man responsible for the brain-busting time travel flick Primer. He returns to screens this week with the similarly mind-bending Upstream Color.

It tells the story of Kris (Amy Seimetz) and Jeff (Carruth); two strangers who are inexplicably abducted and released back into the world with elements of their identities removed … and maybe implanted in piglets.

We asked Shane – who writes, directs, and edits his movies – when he feels he has truly completed a project. He admitted that, now, on the marketing trail, he feels furthest away from it:

“I feel like I understood this film really well when I was writing it. I know in production I was guided by that version of it. But I’ve been doing this so long, I don’t even know what it is.

“I don’t think I’ll be able to see this story for what it is, or how it’s perceived, for years now.”

In regards to how he feels about answering questions about the film in general, he was conflicted.

“At this point, I feel like I’m relaying answers that I learned while doing interviews previously. We’re so far removed from the production, it’s information that I think is true, because I’ve heard it. But I heard it [from myself] [laughs]… I don’t know what I’m saying anymore.”

Listen to the entire interview here.

Subscribe to the Talk Hard podcast – which features all our interviews – on iTunes.

Upstream Color arrives in Australian cinemas August 22.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

