Julian Assange leaks letter to The Fifth Estate’s Benedict Cumberbatch

FifthEstate

Benedict Cumberbatch reportedly wanted to meet Julian Assange before production began on the WikiLeaks movie The Fifth Estate.

Assange, no fan of the project but apparently a big fan of Cumberbatch, declined.

Then, in typical Wikileaky fashion, he revealed his letter to the world, outlining his reasons.

“I believe you are a good person, but I do not believe that this film is a good film.

“I do not believe it is going to be positive for me or the people I care about.

“It is based on a deceitful book by someone who has a vendetta against me and my organisation.”

It goes on like that for a while.

“I believe you are well intentioned but surely you can see why it is a bad idea for me to meet with you.

“By meeting with you, I would validate this wretched film, and endorse the talented, but debauched, performance that the script will force you to give.

“I cannot permit this film any claim to authenticity or truthfulness. In its current form it has neither, and doing so would only further aid the campaign against me.”

Bill Condon’s The Fifth Estate, based on Daniel Domscheit-Berg’s book Inside WikiLeaks as well as David Leigh and Luke Hardin’s WikiLeaks: Inside Julian Assange’s War on Secrecy, arrives in cinemas later this month.

They could not ask for better press.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

