‘The Rocket’ chases ‘The Great Gatsby’ at the AACTA awards


Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby will go into the 3rd AACTA Awards as the movie to beat, but it faces fierce competition from plucky upstart The Rocket.

Gatsby, based on F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel of the same name, was awarded 14 gongs by the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts, while Kim Mordaunt’s crowd pleaser The Rocket collected 12 nominations.

They’ll compete in the Best Film category against The Turning (7 noms), Mystery Road (6 noms), Dead Europe (5 noms), and Satellite Boy (2 noms).

The critically derided Adoration managed four nominations.

Though The Great Gatsby defied expectations to gross $348 million worldwide, it’s The Rocket that has enjoyed a truly charmed year.

After winning audience prizes at festivals around the globe, it’s since been selected as Australia’s entry for the Best Foreign Language Film category at the coming Oscars.

Even if it doesn’t prevail at the AACTAs next January, it has a good shot at the Academy Awards.

Find the full list of nominees here.

Best Film
Dead Europe
The Great Gatsby
Mystery Road
The Rocket
Satellite Boy
The Turning

Best Direction
Baz Luhrmann – The Great Gatsby
Ivan Sen – Mystery Road
Kim Mordaunt – The Rocket
The Turning Ensemble – The Turning

Best Lead Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Great Gatsby
Sitthiphon Disamoe – The Rocket
Ewen Leslie – Dead Europe
Hugo Weaving – The Turning

Best Lead Actress
Rose Byrne – The Turning
Carey Mulligan – The Great Gatsby
Tasma Walton – Mystery Road
Naomi Watts – Adoration

Best Supporting Actor
Marton Csokas – Dead Europe
Joel Edgerton – The Great Gatsby
Thep Phongam – The Rocket
Angus Sampsoin – 100 Bloody Acres

Best Supporting Actress
Elizabeth Debicki – The Great Gatsby
Isla Fisher – The Great Gatsby
Mirrah Foulkes – The Turning
Alice Keohavong – The Rocket

Best Original Screenplay
Colin and Cameron Cairnes – 100 Bloody Acres
Morgan O’Neill and Tim Duffy – Drift
Ivan Sen – Mystery Road
Kim Mordaunt – The Rocket

Best Adapted Screenplay
Christopher Hampton – Adoration
Louise Fox – Dead Europe
Baz Luhrmann and Craig Pearce – The Great Gatsby
The Turning Ensemble – The Turning

Best Cinematography

Geoffrey Hall, Rick Rifici, and Rick Jakovich – Drift
Damian E. Wyvill – Goddess
Simon Duggan – The Great Gatsby
Andrew Commis – The Rocket

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on January 28, 2014.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: