Quentin Tarantino scraps ‘Hateful Eight’ after script leaks online

Quentin Tarantino

This is disappointing.

Quentin Tarantino has told Deadline he’s scrapping his upcoming western The Hateful Eight following the leaking of the script by one of its potential stars.

The picture was set to be Tarantino’s follow-up to Django Unchained, but that’s no longer the case.

“I’m very, very depressed… I finished a script, a first draft, and I didn’t mean to shoot it until next winter, a year from now.

“I gave it to six people, and apparently it’s gotten out today.”

But who is the culprit responsible for the leak? QT has his suspects.

“I gave it to three actors: Michael Madsen, Bruce Dern, Tim Roth. The one I know didn’t do this is Tim Roth. One of the others let their agent read it, and that agent has now passed it on to everyone in Hollywood.”

Geez, thanks a lot guys. (Not you Tim Roth. You’re still cool.)

Tarantino is now considering publishing The Hateful Eight as a novel and moving onto something else (though there is the possibility he could still film it down the line).

“I give it out to six people, and if I can’t trust them to that degree, then I have no desire to make it. I’ll publish it. I’m done. I’ll move on to the next thing. I’ve got 10 more where that came from.”

The odd thing is, most of Tarantino’s scripts leak online before production begins. Hell, that’s how we first learnt of Inglourious Basterds’ beautiful misspelt title.

Whatever his reasons for shelving The Hateful Eight, we look forward to learning of his next project, which will surely star Christoph Waltz (just as Hateful Eight was supposed to).

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

